The tradition that family gets together to eat meals is disappearing. What are the reasons? What are the impacts

In modern society, many families rarely have meals together with all the members gathering at the same time. This trend is caused by the fast-paced modern lifestyle, and it has several drawbacks.

There are various reasons that family members are frequently absent at family meals. First, men and women who are highly focused on their careers and on developing their professional networks have many work commitments. For example, the drinking culture in some Asian countries means that people often spend time in restaurants or clubs after work discussing their work, signing contracts or enhancing their business relationships. This relatively busy lifestyle does not allow them to have meals with their families. Moreover, because of family expectations, adolescents now have to study much more than before because they are concerned about their academic performance. In addition to the time spent on their official school homework, their parents also send them to extra classes in the evening or language classes in the weekend. As a result, they miss out on eating with their families.

As a consequence, there are several harmful effects, especially on teenagers, when family members do not frequently eat together. According to studies, young people who do not share meals with their families are likely to be depressed and experience bad relations with their parents and siblings as well as their friends. Furthermore, planning meals, preparing food and even washing up are things that these teens will not have a chance to experience with their families. In addition, busy people often rely on fast foods often eaten away from home. These foods are poor in nutrients and contain more fat and sugar which are responsible for a range of health issues such as obesity and heart disease.

In conclusion, many people nowadays often miss family meals where the whole family eats together. This is largely because of the modern busy lifestyle. And this way of life is negatively impacting both body and mind.