University should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is noticeable that more male students choose physics, maths as their majors than female students, while most girls prefer history and laws. This can be explained by their performance in those subjects and their interest. Therefore, university should not accept equal numbers of male and female students in all subjects.

To begin with, boys can be better at some subjects than girls. Although it is true that everyone was born with the same brain system, the way they think can be quite different. Girls are usually emotional, whereas boys tend to use reasons to make explanations. For example, it has been surveyed that male students can solve the math problem more quickly than famale students though they are taught by the same teacher and given the same assignments every day. It is because boys excel at utilizing math theories and calculating without calculators. Another example can be seen in physics. With plenty of mathematical equations, the movement of a ball can be described as inaccessible. To solve a certain physics problem requires the understanding of all equations, which can be extremely hard for most girls. Thus, male and female students have different ability on different subjects.

Besides, fewer girls are willing to study some subjects than boys, and consequently it is unfair for university to reduce the number of male students for the sake of balancing students. For example, in my university, only a few girls attend subjects like structural mechanics, while there are usually more than one hundred boys are willing to learn those subjects. If university only accept equal numbers of males and females, the total number of students will decrease dramatically with only ten boys and ten girls. As a result, those boys have to unwillingly change their subjects into others they dislike, such as laws and marketing.

In conclusion, while equal numbers of boys and girls seemingly indicate the university attaches equal importance to students regardless of their sexes, this measure will result in a lot of students being forced to choose subjects they are not interested in.