University students are increasingly studying abroad as part of their studies. Do the advantages studying abroad outweigh the disadvantages?

An increasing number of students who want to travel to study in universities in other countries leads to many debatable arguments related to whether this trend brings more benefits than drawbacks or not. In my opinion, the advantages of this phenomenon overshadow the disadvantages.

The increase in the number of students studying abroad causes more financial losses for domestic tertiary systems. To be more specific, the majority of students switch their intentions to foreign universities, as a result, many local universities and colleges are likely to have problems related to the shortages in the numbers of students. Since the tuition fees of learners are the incomes of these educational organizations, therefore, it is hard for these organizations to have enough finance to maintain operation. For example, due to the drops in the number of students applying caused by Cambodian students aiming to study abroad, several domestic universities bankrupted. However, the local governments could solve this problem by investing resources in the infrastructures and curriculums of domestic universities, making these tertiary systems more attractive to students. Therefore, students seeking quality education can study in their country without going abroad.

Regardless of the aforementioned minor disadvantages, this phenomenon generates numerous benefits in the human resource of a nation. To be more specific, students studying abroad can have chances to access to advanced education in developed countries, getting valuable knowledge and experiences. When these students return, governments could have well educated human resources to develop the country. Besides, in terms of individual developments, students will learn to take care of themselves while living far from their families, becoming more independent. Moreover, being exposed to many cultures can also help them to know new friends coming from around the world, building-wide relationships that are essential to be a global citizen. According to a scientific article in 2010, students who studied abroad have more strong networking connections than those who did not.

In conclusion, while studying abroad could impact slightly on domestic universities, it is more beneficial for students and countries.