The use of mobile phones has increases dramatically in recent years. What are the positive and negative effects of this?

In today's modern world, the proliferation of different technological gadgets has made great impacts on people’s lives, especially the use of mobile phones. From my point of view, I believe there are both pros and cons of this ubiquitous use of phones.

On the one hand, there are several benefits of having personal phones. One thing worth considering is that it can act as an official assistance in people's daily lives. As there are a multitude of different apps and services including Google Maps, Timer and the like, users can utilize the phones for work, school or entertainment. As a result, their workload and daily activities can be fostered to create apparently high productivity just by a small hand held device. Moreover, mobile phones not only assist with work and recreational use but also facilitate communication between people. When friends or family members reside far from each other, they remain contacted through a myriad of social media such as Facebook, Instagram, to name but a few. Thus, the relationships can prolong and people can find help whenever they are in distress immediately with a click on the phone.

On the other, I believe no matter how beneficial the phone can be, the drawbacks it causes cannot be discarded. It is obvious that the ubiquitous and long-time use of phones makes people more prone to several health problems. If someone has glued their eyes to the phone screens too much, he can suffer from short-sighted eyes, not to mention backache, headache or many other lethal ailments associated with the radiation from the phones. Furthermore, mobile phones can be the reason for the expressly high level of procrastination among people. It is apparent that people always feel tempted to check on their phones with the bell or else they can feel agitated. If this situation gets rampant, people will soon procrastinate their work to check the message and emails, then the quality and productivity of their study or work can, to some extent, be jeopardized.

In conclusion, as the phones have become entwined in people’s lives, it can bring numerous advantages including the bridge between relationships, the call for emergency and the use as a multifunctional device. I am, however, convinced that there are more glaring negative influences of this such as the detrimental impacts to health and turning people into procrastinators.