Use of mobile phones should be prohibited inside educational institutions. Do you agree or disagree?

Mobile phones are a part and parcel of all individuals irrespective of class, creed or religion. These instruments are available a dime a dozen and right from a pauper to a ring can afford to buy them. Moreover, these gadgets came with many features that make them look and function like a computer that helps a student in different ways. Hence, I firmly believe mobile phones should not be banned from educational institutions.

In striking contrast to my above stated opinion, there are people who are vehemently opposed to letting these instruments to be used within educational institutions. They state, such instruments have been misused in a co-educational institution in the past and they will continue to be misused in future too. Moreover, they oppose these gadgets tooth and nail because of their features that make them a veritable source of distractions inside a class room.

Coming back to my opinion, I would like to reiterate that these cell phones with their versatile features act as a wonderful value-addition tool in the hands of a student in furthering his or her academic interests. For instance, many books and dictionaries are available online and they can be verified and referred by a student, on the go. Furthermore, in these days of globalized education, a mobile phone acts as a vital tool for communication between parents and their wards.

After slicing and dicing of this contentious issue, I would like to once for all settle the argument in favour of allowing cell phones into educational campuses. The could have been a bone of contentious in the past and could even be so in the present and future, but just because of misuse by a few rotten apples, I strongly feel that the baby should not be thrown with the bath water.