The use of social media, e.g. Facebook and Twitter, is replacing face-to-face contact for many people in thier everyday life. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantage?

Today is called the era of social media as Facebook or Twitter substitute meeting in person. Although there are both merits and demerits, I opine that the benefits are greater than its drawbacks.

To begin with, there are major demerits related to changing the method of contact each other. First and foremost, the intimacy among people would be dramatically decreased. This is because the time people spend on social media is much more than they conversate in person. This, as a result, leads to lose friends in real life. Furthermore, people have a tendency to show off themselves on social media. By posting their best part of the life, they are more likely to pretend to be luxurious on their social media. However, if it does not match with their real life, this in turn can make huge depression.

Nevertheless, there two prime merits if people use social media more often. Firstly, meeting people and having a conversation, especially for companies, can be highly simplified to some extent. Considering the fact that we need to make time and expend when we have appointments, using social media in terms of contact people helps them to save money and time. Secondly, it offers a great opportunity to make international friends. For example, we are not required to book a flight ticket to meet friends in other countries as well as it is undoubtedly beneficial that time and place will not bother us when it comes to globalization.

In conclusion, although there are some disadvantages of contact people on social media by losing intimacy, the advantages are far more.