The use of social media may replace face-to-face contact. Do advantages of the development outweigh its disadvantages.

The replacement of social media with in-person communication has become significant in recent years. In my opinion, the drawbacks of this movement would overshadow its benefits.

On the one hand, communicating on social media appears as problematic. Body languagues, appearances, are important factors, based on which people can assess the reliability of strangers. Given the restrictions of these elements while interacting via the platforms, people may find it difficult to evaluate others' reliability, which is essential to maintain healthy relationships. Another downside of socializing on the social media is that the users may fall victims to cybercrimes. It is becomming increasingly common that people harnessing the online applications for establishing new intimate connection. Due to this, some law-offenders take advantages of the online instruments to steal people's money or personal information. In this case, the tech-savvy try to develope close bond with their targets, especially women, then start to inquire either financial support, or private data from them. This not only places the unfortunate victims at risk of economic loss, but personal reputation damage.

On the other hand, there are merits associated with the linkage of people through social media in lieu of direct interactions. The first upside is that social media remove physical barriers between people. Historically, people have to visit their accquaintances in order to exchange information with them. Given tehcnological advances equipped with social media, individuals can share their feelings, upload images and videos about their life with their friends and loved ones without traveling long distance. Likewise, humans can make their contact at anytime as it does not need accomodations for people's communication to take place. Unlike before, when persons gather at public space, coffee shops, restaurants, and cinemas to talk. With social media chat function, people can have talks whenever they have adequate equiment and internet connection.

In sum, even though social media channels relieve people of the distance, and time limitation, they may loss their money or private information. However, in general, I believe that the development do more harm than good.