Violence in the media promote violence in society.

To what extent do you agree?

Critics throughout both the developing and developed countries have debated whether or not mass media applying violence will cause violent activities in modern society. I partly agree with such idea with two-sided arguments, one supporting and another opposing.

To begin with, overwhelming promotion of violence in mass media, such as television and the Internet, can persistently impact people's mind. With the easily accessible contents promulgated by mass media, people, especially those underage, might be indoctrinated with the brutal thoughts when they grow up, believing that such actions are stimulating, and this may encourage commitment of such violent actions in real life. For instance, in the early 80th century in Hong Kong when movies describing lives of brutal gangs were prevailed among the majority of citizens, the violent crime rates recorded at that time were at the apex throughout the recent decades.

Despite the above arguments, I believe that the violence contexts reported by the media agencies could raise awareness and caution among the general public. Take the news report of the domestic violence or serial killing as example . By watching those details from news reports, people become more vigilant and get knowledge of how the measures should be taken when confronting similar situation, resulting in decreased number of cases of such crimes.

Given the above factors, I would conclude that media has enormous impact on our daily life. Broadcast of violent details by media can be detrimental to people’s mental development, but at the same time, can raise people’s awareness of crimes. Personally, the pros of reporting brutal crimes far outweigh the cons, which are avertable if censorship or parental guidance can be given to youngsters while watching the crime contents.