We can derive knowledge from the news, but some people think we can't trust journalists. What do you think? What qualities do you think a successful journalist should have?

Give a reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

There's a controversial concept that's heating up a debate that journalists can't trust. This problem occurs due to a number of reasons and it can cause a number of adverse effects on public perception and media credibility.

Several reasons may explain why some people think journalists are untrustworthy. First, biased reporting can undermine trust in journalists because it harms objectivity. For example, when journalists advocate a particular political ideology or agenda, their reporting can be skewed, leading to a lack of confidence in its ability to deliver unbiased news. Besides, sensationalism and clickbait headlines, driven by a desire to rank or readers higher, can also erode trust because they prioritize attracting attention over accurate reporting. A good example is when news outlets prioritize sensational stories over less interesting but more relevant and important news.

Nevertheless, instances of journalistic misconduct can continue to cause distrust. Cases of plagiarism, fabrication or unethical behavior that damage the reputation of the entire profession. The main drawback of this trend is that it undermines the credibility of the news industry, making it difficult for the public to distinguish between reliable and unreliable sources. Another downside of the problem is that misinformation and fake news can easily spread, causing confusion and social division. This issue can bring serious implications to public perception and media credibility.

In short, the notion that journalists cannot be trusted is attributed to a number of factors, including biased reporting and instances of misconduct. It is essential for journalists to strive for objectivity, adhere to ethical norms and regain public trust through responsible and accurate reporting.