What are the advantages and disadvantages of taking attending extra classes?

In this day and age, joining extra courses is gaining popularity among students of all ages and their parents. Recently there has been an upward trend in the number of parents sending their children to private classes. While it seems that extra classes offer certain benefits to learners, there are also drawbacks associated with them. In this essay, I shall outline the merits and demerits of private tuition.

It is evident that learners might suffer certain disadvantages from additional classes. Since their spare time is dedicated to enrichment classes, time for other activities is essentially sacrificed. For instance, evenings for additional classes otherwise could be spent on socializing with friends, bonding with family members, or playing sports, which might help students foster their social relationships and improve their soft skills.

I believe that these drawbacks, however, are outweighed by the benefits. For those who are depressed by their poor performance at school, attending extra classes can help fill the knowledge gap and reinforce what they have learnt from the school curriculum. Moreover, students in higher academic standing might benefit from supplementary lessons that expose them to more advanced assignments. The overall impact of this would be students’ improved academic performance, therefore allowing them more opportunities to get admitted to their dream universities and eventually have a well-paid job.

To conclude, without any doubt this issue of extra classes is a mixed bag of benefits and drawbacks. However, I would argue that although there are disadvantages of the current trend to attend additional classes, they are overshadowed by the advantages. It can improve students’ academic performance at school and therefore give them more opportunities.