When international media (including movies, fashion shows, advertisements and other TV programmes) convey the same messages to the global audience, people argue that the expansion of international media has negative impacts on cultural diversity. What is your opinion?

As international media companies expand worldwide, the growing popularity and uniformity of some media programs (such as TV shows, movies, fashion shows) are causing worldwide concern. Many people have strong views toward this trend. In my opinion, international media is closely linked to cultural globalization and cultural homogeneity.

The dominance of international media is a sign of Western cultural imperialism and can thwart cultural diversity. It is not a secret that international media is owned and operated by many giant corporations, such as Time Warner. They control large media market sectors

and place national media companies at risk. The contraction in the number of media owners will cause a proportional reduction in the variety of programs broadcasted. For example, painting, music, and movies accessible in the media have a small number of genres, imposing restraints on one's knowledge of artworks of different cultural backgrounds.

In addition to seizing control over those creative industries, global entertainment companies affect cultural diversity by reshaping ordinary citizens' perceptions, beliefs, and norms in different countries. Most of the cultural values and ideals promoted by the leading mainstream media are of

American origin. American culture values individuality, maximization of one's benefits, and material wealth, rather than communal life and family solidarity, the values and norms previously treasured in many Asian countries. Unfortunately, many Asian people now imitate American people, causing the alteration of their perceptions of family. This radical change can be attributed to those movies and TV programs that portray the success of American individuals or corporations.

The loss of media diversity is also responsible for people's narrow sense of ways of life. The ruling class of many countries speaks English, favors Western food, wears Western-style jackets, and even prefers Western weddings. Young people are captivated by American basketball, and some even daubing the names of NBA stars on their school sweatsuits. All these transformations in life result from the audience's exposure to Hollywood movies, TV shows, and sports reports. The loss of media diversity will lead to the degradation of culture and the depreciation of cultural diversity. It is a worrying trend, as people need cultural diversity to preserve and pass on their valuable heritage to future generations, including their lifestyle.

As shown above, international media, controlled by a handful of transnational media corporations, is exporting Western culture worldwide and putting many indigenous cultures at the risk of extinction. The uniformity of media programs has led to that of artworks, norms, and ways of life wherever international media goes.