It is argued that success is put down to luck. From my perspective, I completely disagree with this statement on account of the fact that people need to make great efforts rather than luck to acquire what they want.

I hold the belief that industrious individuals are bound to attain their targets. Hard-working people will conquer their aims. Thomas Edison, for example, did not give up continuing experimenting when over 1000 try-out bulbs did not live up to his expectations, and his attempts are shown through his significant invention for humans. Another reasonable evidence demonstrating hard work leads to success is Nick Kujicic, an Australian motivational speaker, who comes down with a rare disorder which is conducive to his absence of limbs. Notwithstanding his lack of legs and arms, he applied himself to studying for a bachelor's degree with a double major in accountancy and financial planning and now he travels around the world to inspire other people.

On the contrary, I reckon that luck is only a small factor to attain aims. First and foremost, people cannot solely depend on luck to become fruitful. If a student does not study for an exam, he or she is likely to fail regardless of how lucky he or she is. Moreover, luck is a short-term state of mind and people who rely on it throughout their lives will be extremely disappointed. For instance, a person winning a lottery is believed to be fortunate; however, this luck does not mean he or she will certainly win the lottery permanently for the rest of his or her life.

To sum up, whilst some people attribute achievement to luck, I do not firmly concur with this opinion and suppose hard work is the determinant of success.