While many people go to university for academic study, more people should be encouraged to do vocational training because there is a lack of qualified workers such as electricians and plumbers. Agree or disagree

In a generation where demand for higher academic education reaches its peak, there’s a hot debate over whether more people should take up job-related training in order to strengthen the work force or not. Even though vocational training is necessary, I still side with those who choose to seek further study.

On the one hand, filling in the missing spots of blue-collar workers and creating an easier career path may be the two key reasons why it is thought that vocational practice should be considered. First of all, the lack of a manual labor force has recently been a persistent problem in many developed countries; doing skills training, therefore, can improve the situation. Secondly, students who don’t have the ability to undergo such academic study may find their suitable future career when attending vocational programs, owing to the fact that the exercise is more approachable and doesn't require much skill.

On the other hand, despite the mentioned discussion, I still opt for better academic study. Furthermore, the demands for jobs like doctors, engineers, teachers,… which are all well-respected and require a certain certification or diploma, are climbing dramatically, and the solution to meet the aforementioned requests is to encourage students to apply to a university. Moreover, due to the century of technology, robots and smart artificial intelligence are gradually replacing traditional jobs, which is making vocational training unnecessary.

In conclusion, encouraging people to attend pre-employment courses is a good way to cope with their nation’s current economic struggles; the merits of higher academic learning, however, still outweigh those of vocational programs.