While people in developing countries are happier than in the past, people in developed countries are less happy. Why? What can be learnt from this?

There is a widely held belief that people in developed countries are becoming less happy than in the past while, conversely, people in developing countries are increasing their levels of satisfaction. This essay will discuss the reasons behind this trend and the lessons that can be learned from it.

It is true that economic development in developing nations has led to significant improvements in the lives of local people compared to the past. Greater economic growth has resulted in better conditions of living which has extended to an increase in happiness levels among these populations. On the other hand, developed countries have gained many benefits such as advanced education or healthcare systems but have faced multiple challenges as well. Environmental problems, for instance, have caused a high level of dissatisfaction among local residents in developed nations. The number of companies in America is a prime example of how excessive industrialization leads to higher emissions, resulting in increased health problems and lower happiness levels among citizens.

From the aforementioned phenomenon, it is evident that material wealth is not necessarily a short-cut to happiness. If there is a lack of material resources, people have to work harder to survive, leading them away from enjoying their lives. Therefore, governments should take steps to support their people. For instance, during disease outbreaks, governments should provide free services to transport food to each home and offer small amounts of money to help those suffering from illness.

In conclusion, I believe that economic growth improves the quality of life for people in developing countries; however, it also negatively impacts developed countries. Therefore, the lesson we can learn from this issue is that economic development is directly linked to the happiness levels of a country's population.