Wild animals have no place in the 21st century, so protecting them is a waste of resources. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that wild animals are of no benefit to humans, so they do not deserve to be protected. Personally, I completely disagree with this idea.

Firstly, wild animals help us to broaden our knowledge of science such as biology and medicine. By studying animals kept in captivity, like those in zoos, or living in their natural habitats, scientists can know more about how different parts of living organisms work together to maintain life as well as improve their understanding of evolution. Also, the bones and organs of some mammals, such as tigers, rhinos and bears, are used in traditional methods to treat certain illnesses in some countries. Therefore, it is not a waste of money but a beneficial and necessary thing for us to do.

Secondly, preserving wildlife is protecting biodiversity. Humans, animals, fishes, plants and bacteria are all related through the food chains. If some types of animals in a particular area died out, the biodiversity would become imbalanced, and some species would dramatically increase or decrease in quantity. As a result, all organisms in that area would be detrimentally affected, including humans. To prevent this from happening, we have to protect endangered animals through zoos, natural parks, laws that ban illegal animal hunting, and conservation campaigns funded by governments all around the world.

In conclusion, it seems to me that animals living in their natural habitats are advantageous to us and even play an important role in maintaining biodiversity, so we should step up efforts and do everything we can to protect them.