Write about the following topic:

Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

It is of no doubt, computers have revolutionized technology during the past few decades to up till now. I strongly agree that although usage of computers is very significant innovation of this time, it has also led to negative effects in the society as well.

On the positive side, the development of computers has great advantages for the general public. The younger generation uses computers more often on daily such as Yahoo and Twitter are greatly used by youngsters for conveying messages and video talk purposes which is essential for better communication all over the globe. It is also vital for those people who work in the office where technical work is needed, for example, laptops are necessary for sketching of the framework in the construction of buildings. And with online internet and online banking, our life becomes much easier compared to past all due to advancement in it.

However, on the opposite side, it also has some detrimental impacts on our life. Today people are living in isolation due to these developments. Personal interaction becomes limited, for instance, public gatherings and festivals are not celebrated with great zeal and zest due to the limited number of individuals. Another fact is that now newspaper reading is also get scared due to these gadgets. It also affects the mental and psychological health of youngsters who are keener using it. It excessive usage not only cause a headache but also depression because they are untouched with everyone else around them. They do not know what is going all around them. Computer users also lack essential mechanical and labour skills which are considered very dangerous for this modern era. So it is also damaging for youth.

To conclude, Computers are an essential discovery of mankind up till now and I believe It has both good and bad features for the human race.