You should spend 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

Hosting a major sporting event such as the Olympics or the football World Cup offers significant benefits to the country concerned, yet the costs involved can be excessive and may divert funds from other important areas.

What are the benefits of being a host, and do these outweigh the financial implications?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Organising an international sporting event like the Olympics or the football World Cup can bring several benefits for the country concerned. However, the expenses for the event can be excessive and the government will not have enough budget for other essential areas. In my opinion, the benefits of hosting a sporting event can outweight its financial drawbacks.

There are two main financial disadvantages. First, hosting nation have to spend an enormous amount of money for reinforcing the infrastructure or facilities such as stadium and traffic system but they will not be used frequently after the event. For example, Dubai government spent billions US dollar on constructing a new stadium for the football World Cup 2022, althought they donot have clearly usage plan for the stadium. Second, spending too much money for instructure and facilities mentioned above squanders budget can cause the budget shortage for other important areas like education or healthcare system.

On the other hands, major sporting events bring various benefits for hosting country. The event can attract lots of visitors for country where it is organised, therefore, tourism and retail trade of that nation can be promoted, even this can stimulate its ecomomy. For instance, some foreigners will stay in the hosting country for a few weeks after the event to tour and explore more about that country, so revenue of tourist companies can increase then. Moreover, if country can well done the hosting role, it can be in the limelight and enhance its image “in the eyes of international friends”.

In conclusion, despite of some disadvantages on financial sector, organising an internatinal event brings various benefits, not only on economy but also on diplomacy for hosting nation.