You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

Some people believe that being chosen to host a global sports event is a great privilege for any country. Whereas others advocate that these events pose a negative effect. While I am in no opposition to the aforementioned idea, I believe that it does have its benefits that cannot be denied.

The negative implications of being a host of foreign competition are often discussed in terms of two main reasons. First and foremost, having a huge influx of foreigners coming to attend the events, which might not entirely be under control and could lead to friction amongst that community. It may result in a lot of potential risks affecting the security of the public. The second issue is the requirement of high-tech types of equipment and luxurious accommodations to prepare for the event. Undoubtedly, that nation might incur unanticipated hosting costs contributed to decades worth of debt to support the sports event, which may temporarily take a toll on the economy of the host. Indeed, most of the facilities created for the Athens Olympics in 2004 have contributed to Greece’s debt crisis and remain empty.

With that being said, winning a bid for hosting an international sporting competition also has a positive impact on that country, often referred to as economy and tourism. The number of visitors during and after the events has been proven to be a factor in deciding the progress of the economic boom. Additionally, there is an increase in the use of goods, services, and accommodations, which helps that nation to be able to expose to the global market, attracting future business investment. Moreover, via breath-taking scenery in multimedia and advertisement, audiences could have a lasting impression, so that those countries could become an ideal destination after the events conclude. As an example, tourism Australia estimated that the event was set to deliver a boost to the economy of $1 million a day over three weeks in 2015.

To sum up, I am convinced that hosting international sports events is positive for any countries around the world and that everyone's social life could be improved after finishing the competitions.