Young people who commit crimes should be treated in the same as adults who commit crimes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a controversial argument that if the young offenders committed crimes, they would have sentences as equally as the older ones. In my perspective, I totally disagree with this viewpoint since its negative effects can ruin their health.

On the one hand, applying punishments for mature criminals seems to be more effective than others due to several reasons. Firstly, it ensures the equality of society. Thanks to the incapacitation, young lawbreakers have to undergo a sense of loneliness accounting for living remotely from the community, so they are forced to carefully consider their negative behaviors and the effects that they caused. As a result, the feeling of regret encourages them to have redemption and counter the temptation of recidivism. For instance, besides, capital punishment, the captive penalty was one of the most common approaches of many judges in all global regimes since it might have successfully prevented offenders from offenses.

On the other hand, while it can bring a huge benefit to the community, its detrimental impacts on young people are inevitable. Firstly, they would suffer from physical and mental health. In fact, the immature ones may suffer the risk of deficiency of nutrient foods and other social relationships during the prisoning period and it causes unrecoverable damage to their mature processes such as malnutrition and family affection. Thus, to ensure their stable development, a deterrent such as community service should be considered since particular activities can both enhance the image of the community and the awareness of being criminals. For instance, in some countries, juvenile delinquent undertakes street cleaning and raising animals as a sanction for their sin.

In conclusion, although penalties for adults may hamper people commit crimes again, the authorities should have careful consideration when using them for youngsters to mitigate detrimental effects on them