Young people who commit crimes should be treated the same as adults by the authorities. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

There is an argument that the justice system should punish juvenile delinquents like grown-ups who transgress the law. From my perspective, I partly disagree with this statement.

On the one hand, the option to agree that there should be the same punishment for adolescents is convincing for several reasons. Firstly, putting stringent treatments on them can prevent further criminality. With harsher policies, there would be a more substantial effect on adolescents’ decisions than not treating them as adults. Also, the administration can control the community more effectively and prevent juvenile delinquents from relapsing the crimes. Secondly, there are many youngsters who do not recognize their faults and continually commit crimes without being responsible for their guilt because of mercifulness or unsubstantial punishments. Because of this status, it is essential to put more stringent solutions to impose them on recognizing their guilt.

On the other hand, I believe that treating them equally to adults is not reasonable because of its detrimental effects on their mental health. Adolescents are the ones who haven’t come of age yet so they have not completely developed their mental health and also their cognition. For this reason, imprisoning them when they commit sin is overly stringent. In lieu of that, authorities can give them to the juvie which has a better-educated method. Furthermore, prison is not always a good environment to educate juveniles. They can even become more violent and misbehave when they interact with other prisoners with many kinds of crimes and as a result, they can imitate them. For these reasons, there will be many new threats to the next generations and adversely affect social order.

In conclusion, it seems to me that there are several good reasons to punish juvenile delinquents as grown-ups, although it still has detrimental effects on them, especially their mental health.