Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

It is a common belief that the number of people owning private transport has experienced an upward trend in the late thirty years, leading to an increase in traffic congestion all over the world. The below paragraphs completely agree with the former statement and show ways to overcome this issue.

With more and more individuals possessing cars, many countries must cope with the daunting problem that is traffic blockage. Between cars and motorbikes, the former not only has the bigger capacity, but it is also safer to commute or travel on the main street. A survey suggested that more people are fatal every year in motorcycle accidents than in car ones. Furthermore, social construction suggests that people having their own car are those who are more financially stable.

On top of that, several solutions could be addressed in order to decrease car ownership, one of which is limiting the number of hours cars can move in traffic areas. With this measure, traffic congestion will not appear as there will be a sharp drop in cars moving during off-peak hours. The next solution is that governments can invest in public transport systems, which help people be attracted to use public transport instead of private cars. For instance, public transport in Japan is very developed and the Japanese move to their country without worrying too much about traffic blockage.

On the whole, the usage of these vehicles for personal use has been increasing more and more due to multiple reasons. With the aforementioned methods, many countries can certainly tackle this traffic issue and encourage inhabitants to commute via public means