Today’s fresh food like vegetables or fruits travels thousands of miles from the rural areas or farms before it reaches customers in cities or urban areas. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative trend?

Nowadays, fresh food like vegetables or fruits is grown mainly in the countryside and must be transported a long distance to reach the metropolis. From my perspective, this phenomenon can be explained by urbanization and is fundamentally a positive trend.

There are a variety of reasons why vegetables are developed in rural areas instead of urban ones. Due to urbanization in cities, more buildings and residential places have emerged, so vegetables that required vast land to develop are not able to germinate. For instance, in Ho Chi Minh City, modern amenities account for 90% of the used land, which means not many farms or fields can be found there. Moreover, the level of contamination in cities has been exacerbated by smoke from cars and pollutants from companies. That means if vegetables are grown there, our health after absorbing these products will steadily become weaker and sustainably have more diseases than before.

According to the demerits mentioned, growing vegetables in the countryside might be advantageous. Firstly, the quality of the final products will not be damaged by the conditions in urban areas. Plants that are developed in the backcountry are more likely to be taken care of with a better atmosphere, weather, and special soil for some featured species. Secondly, it is also an opportunity for people who live in rural areas to not be jobless so that they can gain their livelihood and maintain financial stability. From there, countries can have a special agricultural zone to export more products to cosmopolitan nations, entailing a large improvement in the national economy.

To conclude, the condition in urban centers can be compared with that of the countryside. Hence, developing vegetables in special areas where no pollution allocate would be a merit for people.