Many people think that mobile phones should be banned in public places such as libraries, shops, and public transport. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

It is a common belief that a regulation should be made to prohibit people from using cell phones in communal locations such as libraries, shops, and public transport. From my perspective, I strongly agree with this point of view.

In my opinion, using smartphones in public areas is inconsequential because it disturbs people from taking attention to their work. For instance, in libraries, where people have the predisposition to study and read materials, they will not feel pleased when some notifications from others’ phones disrupt their work. For this reason, people are restricted to perform as they expected and also descend their quality of work, which leads to unsatisfactory consequences. Moreover, using smartphones not only disturbs people around us but also adversely impacts our work performance and requires extra time to accomplish.

Another reason why using mobile phones in communal locations is detrimental is that it causes a decline in the interaction between people. When people pay attention to their phones, they will not have the tendency to focus on their conservation with other people. This impolite action makes the one we talk to feel they are disrespected and exacerbates the network between people and society. Secondly, people easily take less care of others’ feelings. In the long run, it results in making people more emotionless. With this long-term effect, the future generation will be easily less sociable, dynamic, and more aggravated, they will be self-isolated from the community.

In conclusion, phone usage in public areas adversely affects surrounding people. Therefore, I strongly believe that it is safer when we prohibit phones in those places.