Young people who commit crimes should be treated in the same as as adults who commit crimes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is said that criminals who are at their young age should have the same punishment as adults. However, in my opinion, I totally disagree with this point of view for several reasons.

First of all, young people are not capable of handling adults’ responsibility and the harsh life of adult prisons. People still in these young ages are not fully mature enough to understand the problems and the causes they have made. Because it is said that movies and other people’s actions could affect children, they might just mimic the behaviour of older adults whom they met, or from movies they have watched without knowing the last results. Furthermore, if they go into prisons as being punished like adults, they have to do jobs which require much energies, such as penal labour work; and this could reduce the growing rate of young people.

Secondly, this act might violate the children’s rights. Children under than 18 years old should be protected because they are not old enough to handle adults’ crimes. Young people are still under the care of parents and should be taught by other educational ways. In particular, in Vietnam, adolescents who murder don’t need to go to jail like older one does because of being immature. Instead of being imprisoned, they will study in training camps, where teachers could help them become a good citizen and fix their past faults. Furthermore, this group of people is the main future labor force to lead to the enhance of the economy of the nation, so they should study at schools to improve and develop their moral values rather than spending years in prisons.

In conclusion, there is no need for young adolescents who commit crimes go to prison like adults. They are not old enough to deal with adults things, and furthermore, there are more solutions to teach them to become a good resident again rather than having punishment.