All parents want the best opportunities for their children. There are some people who think that schools should teach children skills but others think having a range of subject is better for a children’s future.

Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Although the common goal is the children’s bright future in the long run, many people argues that soft skills should be learnt at school while others claim that the broad variety of scientific and human knowledge is more beneficial for kids at a young age. This essay mostly agrees with the former statement as it can be seen in the next paragraphs.

Soft skills are utterly important for a successful life. If we compare the wealthiest people from around the world, we will find out that their common point is not their vast lexical knowledge but their ability to handle other people and their strong belief in themselves. A lot of underpaid employee, who stuck as a clerk for decades for example, would have surely been promoted to leading positions if they had learnt how to be confident and convincing. Undoubtedly, there are fortunate children who were born with these skills but they are in minority. School would be the ideal place to pass on these techniques since parents sometimes also lack these abilities hence they cannot teach it to their kids.

On the other hand, lexical knowledge is also a key factor to be considered as educated. As it is often said, an intelligent person is someone who knows something about everything. However, it would be sufficient if these subjects were taught at a later stage in secondary school. It would be easier to learn long poems by heart if the technique of learning, which also a crucial soft skill, was learnt first.

In conclusion, both skills and subjects have their places in children’s education but their order can make a difference.