Although sports events are very popular, violence at these events is on the increase. Why is this so? What should authorities do to prevent violence from taking place at sports events?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Despite the fact that sports are considered to be the biggest entertainment to people all over the world, the violence in these events is a pressing concern. What are the prime reasons for the fans to act so brutally towards each other and what the authorities can do to eradicate such behavior?

People are enthusiastic as well as desperate when it comes to their favorite games. From small kids to mature adults go crazy from the moment the game starts. Although sports are meant for entertainment, some people are too addicted to go completely insane over their favorite players or the team. As a result, people, regardless of age or gender, indulge themselves in illegal betting against players or teams and this usually involves a huge chunk of money. Subsequently, if the team or the participants, whom they support, do not perform well at a particular match, people who have invested an exorbitant price upon them, get infuriated and it sparks violence among them. For Instance, India has witnessed many crime reports against illegal betting when it comes to World Cup Cricket Tournament, conducted by ICC. Apart from this, popular sports games are often crowded and moreover, the ticket prices are huge. Hence, everyone wants a comfortable and convenient surrounding to enjoy the sport, however, this is impossible with the sheer number of spectators. Ultimately, this creates arguments and violence due to frustration.

In such a scenario, police officers must maintain strict rules and regulations to maintain law and order. People, who are involved in such irrational activities in a public event, must be excluded and banned from attending any such events. Additionally, they must be fined a huge amount. Such harsh punishment might instill some self-control within people. Moreover, it is required to ensure peace between fans as games are solely dedicated to entertainment.

To recapitulate, I would say the reasons behind violence occurring in sports events are illegal betting and over-crowding of audiences, and local regime can enforce tough punishments to reduce such acts and maintain peace and harmony.