Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic?

What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

The thirst for exploring new and exotic places around the world is never-ending. Tourism has opened a wide range of opportunities and it has become the core reason for the economic development of a country. However, with the availability of latest technologies, people want to attempt the impossible and hence, more and more tourists are visiting dangerous places such as the Sahara Desert or the Antartic. In this essay, I will discuss both the advantages and the disadvantages of visiting such rare and risky places.

One of the reasons for people to embark on these environments is the thrill of visiting unheard places. Certain people have the constant urge to explore every single part of the world. This is beneficial for us to learn about the different aspects of the location such as climate, resources, habitats etc. This is highly informative, especially for the people who are interested in geography. Apart from that, we can learn about the biological aspects of this place. We can gain knowledge about the flora and fauna species. Learning about the habitats of these exotic locations is extremely helpful for the discovery of medical herbs and plantations. For instance, many exotic herbs, which are found in the Amazon forest, have brought a solution to numerous diseases.

On the flip side, visiting such places is detrimental and expensive. Going to unknown places requires a lot of safety measures and hence, requires additional men to accompany the tourists. The tourist also needs the assistance of an expert tour guide who is familiar with the location. Nevertheless, safety is never ensured. There are high risks of getting lost or even killed, under certain circumstances. The cost incurred on this expenditure is enormous as well. The safety measures, the men, the flight would cost an arm and a leg for an average person. Hence, such locations are not affordable for many people. Finally, the government splashing out on tourism for such locations, which is not an option for an average citizen, is unnecessary. This is an utter waste of money and resources.

In conclusion, more and more people visiting dangerous places is like a two-sided sword: it has plenty of advantages as well as drawbacks. People must research and be aware of the conditions of these places before setting their foot on these places.