Without capital punishment (the death penalty) our lives are less secure and crimes of violence increase. Capital punishment is essential to control violence in society.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Crime rates are constantly increasing and we notice multiple crime reports every single day. While some people think capital punishment helps to reduce violence in the society, others think it is not a moral thing to do to humanity. However, I do not believe harsh punishment would bring out any changes in crime rates.

Since the prehistoric ages, the world has seen a huge surge in crime and violence. It has caused great harm to mankind and the environment. However, if we look into the roots of these crimes, we can notice that the people, who are involved in violence, are terribly hurt themselves and are mentally scarred. For instance, people who are grown up in bad surrounding tend to hurt others. Hence, such violence can be reduced by sending mentally affected people to rehabilitation. By showering them with love, care, support, and affection, these men could learn to develop empathy towards others and might have a chance to live a peaceful life.

The Government can also take few steps to decrease crime rates rather than sentencing them to death. People, who involve in theft and murder for money, belongs mostly to poor families. Due to the pressure in the family and the requirement to provide basic facilities to their children make these men resort to violence. With the rise in daily prices of oil and fuel and no substantial increase in their salaries, these men literally have no choice rather than stealing money. Hence, if the government takes initiative to increase employment and perhaps find a way to reduce prices for daily commodities, such crimes might come to an end.

In conclusion, I would suggest that capital punishment is not the only solution to reduce violence and make our lives more secure. Although harsh punishment can induce fear among criminals, this is not the ideal solution to control violence in society. There is plenty of other feasible solution that would not only put the violence to an end but also help to make our world a better place.