Being a celebrity - such as a famous film star or sport personality brings problems as well as benefits.

Do you think that being a celebrity brings more benefits or more problems?

Celebrities attract a lot of attention from the public and living as a celebrity has its merits and demerits. Some people believe that the superstars are always too busy and they lack privacy. However, celebrities are rich and respected in the society. Ultimately, I think the gains of being a celebrity outweighs the problems.

There are some challenges in being a celebrity. They usually have very busy schedules, so they hardly have time for personal things because they are always occupied with programmes. For instance, a footballer spends a plethora of time outside home practising and playing for tournaments so as to remain relevant in the game, which might deprive him of having a quality time with his family members. Moreover, Very Important Personalities (VIPs) hardly have any private life. Whatever they do instantly makes the news.

Nevertheless, despite the challenges earlier stated, there are more gains in being a celebrity. They are highly respected in the community. People usually regard them in high esteem because of value they add to the society by impacting people’s lives with their endeavours. A number of celebrities are known to have touched lives with their songs, movies, sports, projects and gifts. What is more, many celebrities are wealthy. They have a lot of oppourtunities to make money because they are famous. For instance, some companies engage celebrities to endorse their products which can lead to sales increment, such business can earn the celebrity a fortune.

In conclusion, I think there are more benefits in being a celebrity because the possibility of becoming very wealthy and respected is very high. More than the problems celebrities face with time and confidentiality, which can be easily managed, the gains that come with their status cannot be overemphasized.