The best way to solve the world’s environmental problem is to increase the price of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Over the last half-century, there has been a dramatic increase in the number of vehicles on the road. This has resulted in numerous traffic jams and consequently, high levels of pollution. While some people opine that one of the many ways to solve this global problem is to raise fuel prices, I am strongly inclined to disagree that it is the best solution.

Firstly, a rise in fuel prices will indirectly influence the prices of products in markets as a result of increased transportation costs. Consequently, products become less affordable and the poverty level rises. For instance, a recent study published in Nigeria reveals that 80% of consumables are sensitive to changes in fuel prices. At the same time, a rise in fuel price will only invoke discomfort among the people who are affluent to own cars but will not drastically change the behaviour of people in using cars by reducing the number of cars in traffic or on the roads. Therefore, fuel price growth will only attract new problems. A better way would be to construct new roads and improve the methods of public transportation.

Furthermore, there is evidence that waste gas from cars is not the leading cause of environmental problems. The main culprits may be the industrial wastes discharged from the rapidly manufacturing industries. Therefore, reducing the number of cars will not suddenly give us a blue sky and fresh air. We could tackle these pollutions by establishing strict controls to reduce industrial wastes through the use of environmentally friendly raw materials and renewable energy sources in factories.

To sum up, it can be seen that the cons of fuel price increase outweigh the pros, hence I am strongly against the idea. Scientists and government can search for cleaner energy sources to adapt like solar or nuclear energy to replace fuel. They can prevent this situation from deteriorating further through new mobility solutions and innovation in renewable energy.