In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them.

Sometimes the government has to pay for this care.

Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Paying for senior members of the family to stay in a caring home has always been a controversial topic. It is noticeable the increasing debate over caring home service to be provided free by the Government or the family should be charge with the admission fee. I believe this should be jointly funded by the Government and family.

There are both private and public caring homes. Government subsidises both to provide the best health care facilities to elders and assurance to the family and a cheaper option. Government funding is essential in supporting the operation of caring homes. Taxation is deemed as working-class contributions back to the community, this is part of funding for civil servants’ income, health care and education funding. Elders having worked most of their life and contributed to this. They are entitled to their benefits at later stage of their life. Further, the funding would also help with the training of staff and ensure basis operation cost is covered.

My view that family should also be responsible as it helps them to remember they have family members at a caring home and avoiding neglection. From my experience, my grandparents both have been admitted to private caring home as private nurse cost significantly, together we were unable to provide care for 24 hours. Private caring home provides a comfortable and quiet environment for my grandparents to stay in, and with government subsidies, my family was able to pay less in comparison to hiring a private nurse. In return, we could provide better medication for my grandparents and have them around for a longer duration, together we visit them more often.

In summary, with economic growth, working class would always find difficulty in looking after elderly family requiring continuous care due to illness, as many would be required to find a job to sustain the family basis living requirement. Family to pay for elderly homes and with Government funding would provide the best outcomes for our older generation.