Children do not respect their parents as much as they did in the past. This behavior is now having a negative impact on society. Discuss

Increasing incidents of disobedience have become the concern of parents and such trend is being viewed as alarming and may have long term declining impact on society. I shall discuss the reason and effect of such behavior.

It is generally mentioned that people of previous generation were more disciplined and particularly their obedient behavior is highlighted. Some people believe that that time environmental conditions forced people to follow their elders. In past literacy rate was not high and people did not have skills to counter the argument. As a result, by default choices was to follow the elders in almost all cases. For instance, my uncle did not attend the school and forced to join the work at early age owing to direction given by my grandfather. Of course, there were some condition which compelled my grandfather to not to given him the opportunity to study but my uncle also did not oppose the decision as well.

However, literacy rate has increased in multifold and technical advancement has uplifted the knowledge of each age group, resulting society norms have become more liberal. Nowadays, children doing argument with parent is not seen as indiscipline; however, children cross the boundary and sometime insult their parents. For example, mu nephew who is in 8th class and label parents as backward because his parents are against his wishes of going to pub at this age. In addition, younger generation use technology and keep themselves update with latest trend and in case of improper argument, they show the fact to elders which sometime hit their ego and consider as disrespect from younger.

In conclusion, children have become more open with their elders and often cross the limit which is definitely a gross behavior. In some cases, even children are right, ego of elders make them disobedient.