Children nowadays spend a great deal of time watching television. However, television cannot replace the book as a learning tool, which is why children are less well‐educated today. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

A significant number of children pass their time by enjoying TV shows in recent days. According to some people, television can never be a learning instrument like book and children are becoming less knowledgeable than before. I strongly agree with this statement because television programs are mainly entertainment oriented and addiction to TV hampers social communication activities.

First of all, majority of child programs focus on the amusement facts rather than educational perspective. It is commonly observed that kids love to watch cartoons instead of any documentary. By repeatedly watching these trivial telecasts they are wasting their valuable time. As a result they are not gaining any knowledge that they could have learned by reading a book. Furthermore, children may misuse television and watch inappropriate broadcasting when they are alone in their home.

Secondly, youngsters may get addicted towards electronics device such TV, Computer, mobile etc and miss the real enjoyment of playing with friends. It is a common phenomenon nowadays that most of the urban child suffers with obesity. This is because they do not spend quality time in outdoor activities and occupy themselves with movie and computer games. This practice also hinders their psychological development whereas reading books improves imagination power and makes people more creative.

To recapitulate, books are more educative and television cannot alter books as an educational device and fails to formulate a better knowledge base among the young generation. The main reasons are television cannot serve the purpose of educating adolescents and affects their health and mental growth.