Parents today frown upon computer games and TV programs because they think spending too much time on them corrupts kids' brain. However, I do believe they can exert positive impacts on children's mental abilities.

It is true that too much exposure to computer games and TV programs might encourage children to become socially isolated. They may therefore spend less time on other activities such as reading, sports and even interaction with family. There are many pupils who skip doing homework to play digital games and watch TV shows and many people believe the more time a child spends on watching TV or playing video games, the weaker his/her performance at school.

Nevertheless, like many other things in life, moderation is key, and I believe proper TV programs and computer games offer high-level thinking skills that children can use in the future. Many computer games provide with children the opportunity to think creatively as challenges come up. Children need to make plans and try different approaches to advance through the game. Some games allow children to customise the character's appearance, which gives children an avenue for better creative self-expression. Additionally, many video games are pro-social and rewards players for helping others, and playing these games can help children to show more empathy in their daily lives. What is more, TV programs today targeted at children centred on real-life historical events, and they can spark a child's interests in world history and geography.

To conclude, I believe children can benefit from watching TV and playing computer games with proper guidance form adults.