In cities many people are living alone. What are the reasons for it? It is a positive or negative trend?

Present day people live in a very fast paced and competitive world where they don't have a time for themselves. Hence they tend to live their own which I see as a negative development in today's society.

Man is a social animal since the day human civilisation began, but now they loosing their humanity and becoming like robots. People have obsessed with their monotonous lifestyle, from home to work and back and becoming anti-social day by day. For an example, it's very common these days when people are travelling majority of them using headphone or earphone to find an escapism. They are not paying attention to the outside. Seriousness of this is once man loose their felling they will no longer respect, love or listing to others which will make lot of conflicts and chaos with in the society and humanity may gone for good.

The other major negative side is, if there is an emergency there is no one to extend their helping hands. Person who lives alone has to deal with the situation on his or her own. As a result many youngsters today suffering from depression and psychological issues and is has become a serious problem in many countries. It has escalated suicidal incidents and juvenile delinquency figures in recent past. Moreover when someone lives alone, if he or she faced with any accident inside their place no one knows even their neighbour next door. Recent incident reported in India, an apartment was robbed and robbers had kill the owner and nobody knew about it until garbage collector came to the place.

In conclusion, when considering the all the facts above, I would like to reiterate the fact that living alone cannot see as a positive development yet which has many negative impact on people's lives. Therefore I believe it's time to change the way of living in modern city life.