Completing university education is thought by some to be the best way to get a job. On the other hand, other people think that getting experience and developing soft skills is more important.

Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Although, it is sometimes believed that university degree could easily help to obtain a job, others opined that more preference should be given to experience and development of soft skills. In my opinion, I consider that having basic post secondary education from university would benefit more in securing a good job.

On the one hand, university graduates have knowledge of fundamentals related with their subject matter. In simple words, it means that they are technically sound, and have in-depth knowledge from basic to advance levels about their stream. Therefore, having relevant degree qualifications would help them to secure a good job with higher designations, and they could also be trained quickly as compared to the non-technical recruiters. A farmer working in his fields, for instance, have many years experience about tilling their fields but he would be unable to produce high yielding varieties by manipulating genes of a plant which only can be done with the help of an agricultural graduate.

On the other hand, in order to be successful at work place, employees should have experience and soft skills. By having these qualities, they would be capable to handle the things and difficult situations in an effective way. However, there could be some issues of understanding the advanced terminology related with the work, if they are academically weak. Sometimes, these things could be overlooked for the workers whose work is perfect and productive for growth of organisation. Thus experience and soft skills may be considered as secondary requirement as certification would be primary one.

In conclusion, experienced worker with no academic certifications is an important asset for a company, but if an organisation has to achieve a remarkable position then it must have a team of qualified and certified employees with advanced knowledge.