In countries where unemployment is high, education should only be obligatory up to primary school and not secondary school. To what extend do you agree or disagree.

Education is the backbone of every nation. It is been long debated that a nation, which has a lot of jobless citizens should not make enrolment in high school mandatory to cater deficit in vacancies. I believe, education being a key aspect must be made compulsory until secondary school as it helps in fuelling mental growth. In case, a country does not have sufficient funds then it should make at least elementary schooling a must for every child and find alternatives to impart then with further knowledge.

Academic knowledge is a supporting pillar to bring poor out of their miserable life and government must make sure that its citizens are getting higher knowledge to enhance their mental abilities. Curriculums are designed in a manner to broaden a child’s logical thinking, which assist in bringing structure in their life, thereby paving a path for brighter prospects. In order to curb lower jobless count, government can introduce vocational courses to students of high school so that they can earn better livelihood after completing their courses. A recent initiative by Delhi government, where youngsters can hone vocational skills for free and it has given opportunity to our youth to prepare themselves for current market, is a huge success.

On the flip side, if we only have mandatory primary education for a country then the overall quality of workforce will be lowest in comparison to the international market. Eventually, leading to unskilled and low payed jobs as the aptitude and the IQ of the worker is low. This scenario is only possible where country is economically poor, and people or government cannot support higher education. Through government cannot support higher education. Though government should create programmes to upskill their people as per international standards for their development.

To conclude, restricting education till elementary school instead of higher education is not a wise decision as it limits people’s mental development. However, to strike a balance with higher unemployment rate, government can introduce vocational trainings to prepare their citizens.