The evolution of tourism that utilizes English as its medium is becoming eminent across any other language in the globe. Due to this, a few people think that English will be the sole language to be used globally in one of these days. This essay aims to portray a few advantage and disadvantage of this trend, followed by a logical conclusion.

One of positive, perhaps the most sensible is breaking the language barriers. Travelers who are not equipped with multilingual skills are mostly having a hard time expressing themselves to locals. For example, Japan is one of the top most tourist destination spots in the world, mostly in "ber months" since it's the time when the snow falls. However, sadly most of the local residents are not able to speak English, which makes it tough for the foreigners to navigate to different tourist spots, buy some things or even ask for a direction. Having a unified language will solve this dilemma.

With regards to the disadvantage, the promotion's for a single universal language can also be the cause of killing traditional languages. People who aim on mastering English as its primary language tends to abandon their ancestral language, that will eventually lead to cultural extinction. For instance, since language is a difficult subject to study, people are obliged to focus on it by writing, reading, listening and even speaking it the entire time. This will lead people to forget their own primitive language that was passed from generation to generation.

To conclude, utilizing English as a sole global medium of communication will be of great help since it will eradicate language barriers that result to easy communication. However, adding this language up to someone's sleeves should not lead to abandoning one's local traditional language. Thus, balance on using a single language must be observed.