Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of small shops will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Local businesses make their surrounding communities vibrant. Every day thousands of small shops in neighborhoods go bankrupt and close their doors as a result of supermarkets siphoning all of the customers and profit. This is surely changing the culture of societies around the world. I completely agree with the idea that local communities become extinct as ‘mom and pop shops’ go out of business; these vendors are not only important to support economy but also to foster socialization.

Privately owned stores in the community are driving forces of the surrounding economy as they hire nearby residents and circulate local money. When residents in the neighborhood spend their money at their nearby stores, they are enabling the owners to hire people living in the area as cashiers, managers, cleaners and marketers. This in turn puts more money into the pocket of the people which they can then spend for more services and products in the area. For instance, when I buy groceries at Mr. Smith’s Corner store, he can continue to employ my cousin Jim who works there as a cashier. Since Jim is making money, he can afford to buy roses for his girlfriend and the next-door flower shop. This is one of two ways in which local shops sustain local communities.

Perhaps an even more important role of Mom and Pop Shops is providing opportunities for frequent interaction among the local residents. When people often meet with each other while buying food, getting hair cut or choosing tools at their grocer, barber and hardware store, they develop strong bonds. These close connections grow into friendships and a strong sense of community spirit. In the case of Jim, my cousin, he is not only employed my Mr. Smith, but considers him a friend of the family. Furthermore, he met his girlfriend working at Mr. Smith’s since she shops for milk there every morning and they have had many chances to interact.

In conclusion, local shops are the cornerstones of communities as not only places to empower economic growth but also to interpersonal development. Therefore, I strongly believe that with the death of these shops, as a result of corporate pressure, community spirit does suffer. It is the responsibility of people to determine what is most important when doing their shopping.