electronic books are preferred over paper books in many parts of the world.

what are the advantages and disadvantages of it?

It has been observed that the use of electronic books has increased manifoldly across the globe. While e-books are detrimental to human eyes, they are quite convenient to carry while traveling.

Undoubtedly, reading books in electronic ways has some harmful impacts on the reader’s eyes. This is because, Sticking to a computer or mobile screen, which is perhaps necessary to read books online, involves continuous and intense exposure to a specific type of blue light that primarily cause strain on human eyes. This strain, for example, can result in blurry vision or even make a person blind permanently along with other health issues such as unbearable headache, cervical and dysfunctioning of neuron cells. Therefore, it is not always possible to read computer-based books especially when a person is highly prone to these health complications.

Despite having some drawbacks, e-books render convenience, especially when going outside. Unlike conventional books which are difficult to carry above a certain limit, thousands of these books, thanks to the latest gizmos and their copious storage memory, can be carried through a single mobile phone or laptop. This luxury offered is certainly an advantage as people can read anytime, anywhere and they need not to lift heavy paper books’ weight along with their luggage when they have to move somewhere or want to go on a holiday trip. A latest report published by the Ministry of Tourism, Switzerland states that a majority of visitors to the country bring soft copies books instead of hard paper books just to reduce the carry weight and for convenience.

In conclusion, although e-books are baneful for human health particularly for human eyes, they are advantageous in the convenience point of view, especially in the case of traveling.