Environment pollution is too alarming to be managed by individuals. Real change can be made at the government level. What extent do you agree or disagree?

Environmental degradation is definitely a pressing problem in the current times. With the ever-growing population and proportionately increasing anthropogenic activities, the time has arrived for the human race to intensely think of solutions to save the ecosystem. Though individual contribution can be effective, involvement of authorities is the key.

Ruling bodies have the ability to bring a bigger change when compared to one person. If the governments educate their citizens and disseminate various initiatives through which we can preserve the environment, it reaches broader audience. Running campaigns such as encouraging commuters to use public transport or car-pool to work, developing community parks, imposing ban on usage of degraded plastic would truly cater the need of the hour.

Nevertheless, it is the shared responsibility of the people to heed to the governing bodies and implement them. The reasons why measures by central bodies are more effective is that these regulatory organisations have the supreme power to mandate the regulations and fine the ones who do not obey the rules. Birmingham in the United Kingdom is an empirical example to exhibit this. This small town has a no-pollution day every month where the residents are forbidden to use their own four-wheeler on that day and if they breach the rule , they are penalised with 1000$ fine and a three month community service. This acts as a deterrent to the locals. These major changes benefitting the society and environment cannot be achieved by one. Hence the an enormous responsibility is on the government for the true transformation to protect the environment.

To conclude, though individual's acts contribute to safeguard the environment, the onus is now on the governments to combat the surging issue of environment pollution.