Traditions are about the past and innovation is about the future, and it has been argued that we need to let go of traditions for the sake of progress. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this? What role should traditions have in our lives?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task

With the rapid growth in scientific innovation, there has been rising conflict between the traditions and the latest innovation. Some people believe that past traditions should be let go for the betterment and progress in the future. I would extend my agreements with a few examples.

On one hand, people believe that traditions are the identity of the person. It was introduced to bring unity among people. For instance, in India the ganesh utsav festival was celebrated in order to unite people during the time of curfew to celebrate and also prepared plans for the war and riots against the British ruling. Every person is known by his tradition and culture it follows. Even the ancient monuments represent country's history and its achievements.

On the other hand, certain past traditional beliefs creates barriers in the growth of scientific research and development. For example, people do not donate their organs or does not preferred to donate the blood as they think that it will harm their health. At times they even deny for the postmortem of the death person and burry it in coffin or burn into ashes according to their traditions. This brings difficulty in the research work on humans body and to cure the diseases such as cancer.

Accoding to me, Traditions does play an important role for the one's identity but it should not create the barrier in the growth in future. Such should be avoided and an individual should think for the future establishments and for their welfare.