Fossil fuels (e.g. Coals, Oils and Gas) are the main source of energy for most countries. However, alternative sources of energy (e.g. Wind and Solar) have been encouraged to be used by some countries.

To what extent is this a positive or negative development?

Many countries today are turning to the natural resources to fulfill their requirements of day to day life. The realisation of the importance of alternative sources has compelled the authorities to take strict measures in this direction. In my opinion, using alternate sources in place of scarce resources is indeed a better and positive initiative.

Firstly, due to the increasing population and ever rising demand of people, fossil fuels are used exhaustively, which has made their availability a matter of great concern. The usage of oil and gas is so extensive that, functioning without them is unimaginable now. This has lead to the scarcity of such fuels. Additionally, people have become extremely dependent on fuels, like coal and gas to run their big or small businesses or in other words their entire livelyhood, as if no other means can replace that.

However, considering the shortage fuels, there are better alternatives to take place, such as wind and solar energy. Many countries has initiated the use of these natural resources and have established solar panels, not only for large projects but has also encouraged individuals to switch to such energy saving means. Countries like UK and Canada are making adequate use of alternative means in order to become efficient in replacing limited source of energy.

To deduce, opting for alternative sources of energy over the once which are scares and limited, is actually a step forward and every government must take necessary step in this direction, keeping future condition in mind.