The gap between rich and poor is increasing. What problems does it cause? What solutions can you suggest?

The gap between rich and poor people is increasing at an alarming rate due to unequal distribution of wealth in society. While it can cause many socio-economic issues in society, many solutions could be suggested to mitigate the problems.

There are several issues cased by an increase in gap between rich and poor. Firstly, education has become inaccessible to impoverished members of society. Quality education is the basic human right of every child born in a country. It is also not in reach of masses due to which, these people are unable to compete for high paying jobs and thus, it becomes a significant disadvantage for them. Another important effect is the increase in crime rates. As marginalised groups often do not make enough money for their living, they resort to heinous acts such as burglary and theft etc.

Although these problems are critical, it is possible to find solutions. First of all, government should introduce financial schemes and provide scholarships and bursaries for student from less-fortunate communities, which will help a wider section of society to get quality education they deserve. This will give them a fair chance to compete with the rich. Another solution would be by providing employment opportunities to under developed people. This will ultimately increase their income and level of living, consequently, reducing crime rates. For example, the government of Pakistan has introduced many schemes to help the needy people of country, such as Benazir Income Support Programme.

In conclusion, widening gap between rich and poor has caused many pressing issues in society, which can be ameliorated by providing educational and employment chances to poor people.