Growing population is a big problem in developing countries. Should Government provide new homes in the cities or countryside.

Human population has seen a drastic increase in its number since the nineteenth century. Most importantly, the overgrowing population is one of the major causes of global warming. The growth in population also leads to a shortage of homes in many advancing countries like India. Now, the biggest question we have here is whether the higher authority should build new houses in the rural areas or in the city itself? This essay will discuss the pros and cons for both the options.

To begin with, many cities like Bangalore have seen an immense flow of people from varied places in the recent times and thus, it is intuitively obvious that there will be a shortage of homes. Therefore, the government should take necessary steps towards building new houses in the rural areas. There are various advantages to it. Firstly, suburban areas will get developed and equipped with all the facilities which most of the people dream of. Secondly, there will rise in job opportunities. Lastly, the housing prices will decrease. For example, a recent study done by the “Housing Association” showed that since 1990 the real estate department has seen a 200% rise in the housing price which definitely made owning a house very expensive.

On the other hand, rural development can also cause many problems such as deforestation can cause huge damage to our environment. Moreover, farmers depend on agricultural land and in fact it is the bread and butter of their life, so, construction on these lands will have an adverse effect on them. Furthermore, reduction in farming will have a detrimental effect on the world food ratio and will lead to food scarcity. For instance, a recent survey by the “Food and Research Department” proved that 60% of the world’s food demand is fulfilled by the agriculture and farming sector. Thus, it is evident that farming land should be preserved for the longevity of mankind.

To conclude, after analyzing all the possible aspects of the given argument it is obvious that the society needs more houses for the overgrowing population to be accommodated, however, more stress should be given in preserving the countryside by making use of other means of development.