Improvements in health, education and trade are essential for the development of poorer nations. However, the governments of richer nations should take more responsibility for helping the poorer nations in such areas.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

A developing country can never make progress until the literacy rate and economic conditions are at par with the developed countries. However, I disagree that the government of developed countries should solely take the responsibility especially by spending the money earned by the taxes of their citizens for helping the poor nations.

Beyond any qualms there are myriads of logical reasons to prove that it is quiet unfair for the citizens of developed countries. Tax is hard earned money of the citizens of a country and it is promised by the government to spend it on the citizens to provide them necessary facilities such as transportation and medical aid and thus make their lives easier. If the government starts spending this money for the betterment of other countries then it will betray the trust of the citizens of that country.

Instead of this strategy the Government should send volunteers who are willing for an exchange program to help the kids of poor nations in education. In this way it will be mutually beneficial for both the countries. Moreover, simply giving away money to poor countries is not a solution for solving the problem of illiteracy and economic setback of developing countries as there is no guarantee that this money will not be wasted in corruption. Government of poor countries should however learn to utilize their resources wisely or try to procure loans which they can return later on from rich countries so that they feel more dedicated and responsible not to waste this cash in the hands of fraudulent leaders.

In conclusion, I believe that it is not simply the wealthy and developed nations who should shoulder the responsibility of helping the poor countries by extending monetary support. However, the poor countries ought to take the responsibility themselves to prevent corruption and utilize their financial resources for the betterment of their country by increasing the standard of education, trade and housing. Will the leaders of poor countries think this way? Still remains a question.