An increasing number of professionals, such as doctors and teachers, are leaving their own poorer countries to work in developed countries. What problems do this cause? What solutions can you suggest to deal with this situation?

Nowadays, more and more professionals from underdeveloped or developing countries are choosing to live and work in richer countries. In this essay we will discuss the problems arise due to such migration including skill shortage and economic instability. This essay will also suggest the solutions to these problems including increasing salary scale and offering better standard of living.

One of the major problems caused by such brain-drain is shortage of skilled professionals, leaving poorer countries to struggle for their development and improving living standards of its citizens. Due to lack of skilled professionals such as doctors and teachers, the citizen of these countries struggle to get basic facilities such as medical and education. For instance, a recent survey conducted by WHO (World Health Organization) revealed that the fatality rate is high in an underdeveloped countries due to unavailability of proper medical facility. In addition to this, because of such migration of professionals, poor countries depends on foreign technical aid which cost them billion dollars which further aggravates their economic instability issues. To illustrate, in 2011 the economy of Venezuela almost collapsed due to their huge spending’s to get foreign technical aid. In other words, the migration of a skilled professionals from underdeveloped or developing country creates problems for their government such as skill shortage and economy related issues.

However, there are various solutions to these problems such as offering better pay scale and offering better living conditions. One of the reasons professionals leave their county is to get better salaries and benefits. So the government can offer better salaries along with incentives to required skilled professionals to entice them to live and work in their country. Another possible solution is improving standard of living, as every professionals look for better standard of living. The government of these countries can spend their budget to improve standard of living of its citizens by borrowing funds from external banks. For example, underdeveloped countries like Bangladesh took long-term loan from World Bank in 2010, to improve their education and medical facility. In short, better pay scale and good standard of living are the best possible solutions to be undertaken by developing/underdeveloped countries to overcome the problems arise by such brain drain.

In conclusion, with the increasing number of migration of professionals from poorer countries generate problems such as skill shortage and economic instability. The best possible solutions to these problems are providing better salaries and offer better standard of living.