It is becoming popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to universities.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

It is increasingly common amongst high-school graduates to spend a year off school before proceeding for higher institution. Although this development has some benefits such as empathy and exploration, but it cannot be denied that it has some downside effects which would be considered in this essay.

On the one hand, the disadvantages of spending a year out of school is loss of academic brilliance. As a student, continuous learning can guarantee improvement in studies, whereas, if one takes a break away from education, there would be setback in studies. Another negative effects of this behaviour that is worthy of our attention concerns the delay in academic qualification achievement. Obviously, fellow course mates who continued their schooling would graduate according to the planned academic calendar, unlike those who did not proceed. In short, it can be seen that academic progress of students who embrace a year break could be shattered.

On the other hand, leaving school for a year could be advantageous in some ways; one of which is empathy. By spending twelve months working for charity organisation, undoubtedly, will enable the students have empathy because they will associate with the less privileged individuals in the real world. This could have positive impact in their future endeavours. In addition, exploring of the world during this period could change and individual's perspectives of other cultures because they will learn foreign language and tradition, and as a result, there will be peace and unity in the world.

In conclusion, despite the fact that this development could cause deterioration to the academic growth of youths, it also increases the probability of academic success through moral values.