It has been argued that giving gifts to friends and family should not be encouraged, because money is often wasted on things that people do not like or want.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is common between people to gift each other on holidays or special occasions; however, while this process is enjoyable for many of them, some of them believe it to be a waste of money. They argue that this is because gifts mostly do not meet the expectations of those who receive them. I partly agree with this argument because of the following reasons.

On the one hand, there is a stereotype that the more expensive a gift is, the more valuable it should be for a receiver. With many people believe in that, they make their choices of gifts based on the price tags. So, a person that will receive one is likely to dislike it. That is why everyone should always be thoughtful, picking something for their loved ones not to make them feel disappointed or embarrassed. For example, once my friend presented me with an enormously expensive crystal duck that, to me, was ugly and not worth the money she had spent on it.

Meanwhile, some gifts people wish to receive may be quite costly, which does not matter when this is the only thing that will make them happy. In this case, the gift must reach its primary goal - to bring a smile on someone's face. For example, my younger sister, Annie, was dreaming of a new Barbie doll and was frustrated because her female classmate had one and did not let Annie play with it. Despite its high price, $35, parents decided to buy the doll for Annie, and since then, she has been smiling every day. Nothing is more precious for parents than the happiness of their child.

To conclude, despite the high price of a gift may become a concern for someone, they should always be attentive to the wishes of their families and friends so that they can buy appropriate gifts. Not every gift should be expensive, but if it is valuable for its receiver, the former should not matter.