It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at the early age. Punishment is necessary to help them this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parent and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

Making mistakes are common as human being whether it’s a grown up or a child. Learning difference between right and wrong at a tender age is very necessary, as a parent it is the responsibility to teach your child what is right and acceptable and what is not acceptable. Punishment gives the sense to child what he has done is not correct and would not be tolerated in future. Punishment always stays in memory as it affects subconsciously on Child’s behavior. This may in result make the child more constructive and positive or vice a versa.

In my opinion punishment is necessary, but it should be more mental than physical. The child should feel that what he has done is wrong and if he repeats again will not be encouraged by anyone. Physically beating or locking child in room or keeping him grounded won’t help. This may create a worst effect on child’s mental state, it may make him become more violent and repeat his act again to show his anger.

As a parent and teacher should first understand the reason behind his act give counseling and make them apologize. They should involve punishment as running for 10 minutes in field or cleaning the neighborhood area for week. They should be given punishment as community service which will make them realize their mistake as well building their character. Suppose two children got into fight then teacher should involve the two children in some team work where children may know each other and evolve as team.

In my view punishments are important to differentiate between good and bad, but the punishment given should be carefully chosen so that it becomes constructive rather being destructive for child’s character.